Skip to content

Dog Trainer Reviews

Ogden Utah's Best Dog Training

What our Customers are Saying

Harrisville Working Dogs IconHarrisville Working Dogs

855 North Harrisville Road, Harrisville

4.8 34 reviews

  • Avatar William Smith
    Amazing dog training and great and affordable boarding. JD and his crew have worked wonders in helping our dog that had social anxiety and people fears. Groot has come a long way with meeting new people and being a lot more friendly. … More We feel more confident in taking him into social places like the farmers market. Thanks for all the hard work JD!
    ★★★★★ 6 months ago
  • Avatar Ashley Sheehy
    Our dog is a jerk and we are so grateful for JD and his team of incredible trainers and other professionals who continue to work with us and encourage us. When other trainers turned us away and told us our only option was to put our dog … More down, JD and his team told us we could make progress. They don't give up and make their training accessible with additional resources like scent work, tracking, rattlesnake avoidance and ecollar training. We love the community they have built and are constantly grateful for their continued support.
    If you are looking for a trainer HWD can do it all but they are especially an important resource for dogs that are aggressive or require LIMA methods beyond Positive reinforcement (P+) only.
    ★★★★★ 8 months ago
  • Avatar Mikell Mower
    I sent my two naughty dogs for a board and train with JD at Harrisville Working Dogs. JD was very upfront that it was a whole process and would be consistent work on our parts afterwards, and that he was laying groundwork for the dogs, … More he was also realistic about what he could and couldn't achieve with them. When I got my dogs back I was very pleased with how much they had learned and how well they responded to us giving the same commands even though we had not been the ones teaching them. JD and crew have been extremely responsive to any questions I've had afterwards, they've done great at explaining the "why" behind some of the things my dogs do which then helps me understand how to better communicate with and train the dogs. The Sunday classes are a great way to make sure my dogs training stays sharp and for me to learn new things to work with them on at home to make us all have a better relationship. I will always use JD and Harrisville Working Dogs for any boarding or training needs in the future.
    ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
  • Avatar jessie henry
    I have 3 dogs.
    All of which are Aholes and have their own requirements.
    Two of my dogs can not be put together as one hates the other.
    And The other one just HATES people.
    And then I have a personal protection K9.
    Well I have boarded my
    … More dogs here on several different occasions and I can’t say enough amazing things about it!
    My dogs were all safe and happy to come back each time!
    I also asked if an evaluation can be done on my male who hates the other. And that was also completed during they’re stay
    My heeler who hates people did a two month board and train and Iam IMPRESSED with the results.
    Not only was she happy during her stay. I can now walk her in public areas without her losing her absolute mind. And she’s SO willing to meet new people.
    I have never seen my dog get so excited when asked if he wants to go see his favorite trainer. I will absolutely be coming back for training once my shoulders healed. And anytime I need to board my dogs to go on vacation! 10/10 reccomend!!
    ★★★★★ 6 months ago
  • Avatar Wendy Pearson
    I can't say enough amazing things about this place and the staff! I have seen countless aggressive dogs be rehabilitated through proper training with the dog and with the owners. JD is very knowledgeable and is willing to share his … More knowledge on personal protection, odor detection, behavioral modification, socialization and exposure. Training is not just for the dogs but for the people as well and this company does an amazing job at teaching both. In addition to the aforementioned, this company also hosts many group classes that are very affordable and beneficial including a social class with obedience, odor class, pack walk and protection training in group settings.
    I took on a fearful, insecure Dutch Shepherd with a bite history that I am confident I would have really struggled with without the help of JD. Where other trainers would have suggested putting the dog down, JD never once suggested that to me. I would bring this Dutch Shepherd to the group class with obedience and through time, training and dedication he has now gone on to live with a new family who provides him a healthy outlet, a job and respectful boundaries. The dog is doing very well and its a huge part thanks to HWD.
    ★★★★★ 6 months ago
  • Avatar Chris Sharpe
    I have seen negative reviews from people who have never been to this place and have reviewed on what they were told not a actual experience with this company so a review without actual experience facts or firsthand knowledge is ignorant. … More Also to the unknowing 1 star people let me share actual facts and experiences with HVWD. Fact all boards are kept in a climate controlled environment I know this cause I board my working dog with them also I installed and maintain the hvac system. Fact I have seen the amazing transformation of very aggressive dogs that were going to be euthanized able to function in society and live a healthy life among people. Fact, I have many hours of training with them JD is very good at reading dogs behaviors so if he says a dog has extreme anxiety believe it. Fact, they also spend countless hours training local police K9s and boards many of them. This is a honest review I have had actual firsthand experience with this company and I will say the dog’s best interest and care will come first before any human. Hope this is helpful.
    ★★★★★ 10 months ago
  • Avatar UtahNavyVet
    We were referred to JD when we took in our German Shepherd, Nikita, and he and his staff were amazing and have continued to be. When we head out of town he is always able to board her and continue to work with her. Harrisville Working Dogs … More is top notch and more. Not only have they trained her to be a wonderful obedient dog, but they have taught us as owner's things we never would have known.
    ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar lori SAVILLE
    Our dogs attended the tracking and obedience course today. JD and staff were OUTSTANDING!!! Our dogs really enjoyed it. I can't wait to bring them next Sunday. Thank you HWD!!
    ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Dedlock
    Best dog trainer in Utah Hands Down Jd is an amazing Trainer/Decoy one of the best Decoy i have ever seen... i highly recommend him for all Training needs...
    ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Kenzie Kidder
    JD took my reactive dog for a board and train. He was having issues with our toddler. He came back a totally different dog that respects boundaries and rules. He is tolerant of my toddler and will move away when uncomfortable. Communication … More through the process was excellent. I highly recommend JD and look forward to working with him more in the future. Thank you for making our dog safe around our child so can keep him!
    ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Randi Jo Goldsberry
    JD worked with my Bull Terrier after she started lunging and biting people. Not only does he work with your dog he helps you to understand the behavior and we haven’t had any issues with her since! I highly recommend him to everyone.
    ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Hailey Spillane
    JD and the other trainers have been so helpful training my crazy border collie puppy and neurotic blue heeler. Highly recommend to anyone.
    ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Ashley Hanley
    JD has been amazing to work with. He helped my dog regain her confidence and become an amazing personal protection dog, as well as a soon to be certified narcotics detection dog.
    JD is always helpful and gives the handlers advice that
    … More helps build strong, confident, and hard hitting k9s.
    I have also had the privilege to watch JD work with a few dogs that were with him for behavioral modification, and was impressed with how well he handled the dog in front of him and tailors the lesson to each dog and client.
    I couldn't recommend this business enough.
    ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar Jennifer taylor
    Amazing people ❤ they made me and my daughter feel so welcome, they gave us hope and the encouragement that we could train our dog . They are truly amazing people definitely will recommend to everyone ❤
    ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar Tap Out Stress Mary Cassidy
    Buck, my sweet 4 month old retriever, was a strong-willed, lovable maniac before going to train at HWD. I was SO stressed. Sarah was his main trainer with Juan and JD. They returned to me a civilized, well mannered boy. I can breathe now … More & truly enjoy the puppy process. HWD was worth every penny, every moment away at “board & train.” Thank you Sarah and team.
    ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar shh :p
    100% the best professional dog petter.
    He has taught me a lot about handling my dogs and how to train them better. And helps me to improve
    Even if there is dumb questions he’s willing to answer them.
    I highly appreciate JD’s help and professionalism.
    … More
    I reccomend him to anyone looking for a trainer. There’s nothing bad to say
    ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Shannon Friesen
    Best dog trainer in the area, hands down.
    ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Justin Green2
    Very professional!! JD not only helped my dogs but helped me to be better with my dogs, thank you for everything!!!
    ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Opal Mack
    We brought our dog to Harrisville Working Dogs to solidify good behavior with distractions and impulse control. We took their basic obedience class. We are so impressed with the results! Our dog is behaving SO MUCH better and JD and Ash … More have taught us skills to continue refining behaviors. Would recommend 100%. We are really looking forward to working with them again!
    ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Jared Nowland
    JD and Harrisville Working Dogs are some of the best in the industry. Super great at explaining the process behind shaping dog behavior and helping to get the result you are looking for. I recommend them 100%.
    ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar H Thomason
    Definitely recommend JD & Harrisville Working Dogs! In our case, JD assisted us in making sure we were doing the right commands and signals for our dog for his specific behavioral issues. Provided safe/controlled socializing sessions. … More Our Catahoula Leopard Dog started exhibiting some fear aggression issues with other dogs and had seemed to have lost some confidence after some household "pack" hierarchy changes in 2020. We were referred to JD from our other trainer for help with the behavioral issues. Within a few hours JD returned our call, had scheduled a meet/greet to review our dogs behavior, and had us on the path to tackling the fear/confidence regression immediately. We have been able to add some great socializing experiences and additional training for us and Gunner for scent tracking. All the techniques and assistance have been exactly what we needed. We truly appreciate all of the help and guidance JD has been able to provide for our family. Thank you so much! We look forward to our continued training days ahead.
    ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar Wegoplacez
    Truly the best! We had a very serious situation with our boy Rocky last year... Our vet recommended putting him to sleep because he thought he was to aggressive. I left the vet in tears but thankfully I was given JDs number. He met with … More us right away to assess Rocky. He agreed to help us with Rocky’s aggression. He addressed many issues and we worked hard to get Rocky’s behavior under control. Within a very short time Rocky went from a scared and anxious dog, who wanted nothing to do with people or other large dogs, to a happy friendly doggy. I love his technique and felt comfortable with how he worked through Rocky’s behavioral issues. JD was so gentle with such an aggressive scared dog. JD even boards animals so whenever we have travel without Rocky, we know he’s in the most capable hands.
    ★★★★★ 4 years ago

Ready to Become Our Next Satisfied Customer?

OUR K9 TRAINING IS TRUSTED BY CUSTOMERS INCLUDING
Riverdale Police Utah
Garfield County Sheriff Colorado
Ogden City Police Utah
Lehi Police Utah
Provo Police Utah